Exploring the Interfaces (ETI) 1: word structure

Exploring The Interfaces: Word Structure
McGill University, May 6-8 2012
The conference will take place in the ballroom of Thomson House, 3650 McTavish St. Google map

As part of the Syntactic Interfaces Research Group (SIRG) of McGill University and UQAM, McGill is hosting the first of three workshops exploring the interfaces, ETI 1, on May 6-8, 2012.

For the past two and a half years, linguists in Montreal affiliated with SIRG (formerly McSIRG) have been investigating the properties of the two syntactic interfaces, Phonetic Form (PF) and Logical Form (LF) in an interdisciplinary way. Now, in this three day workshop that focuses on the structure of words, we bring together a number of external collaborators of SIRG as well as other renown researchers to explore words from intermodular perspectives. The goal is to investigate the structure of the interfaces through the structure of words, using phonological, semantic and experimental evidence, and surveying evidence from different language types. A particular focus of the workshop is to examine phonological as well as semantic evidence for cyclic domains inside words, and investigate apparent mismatches as resulting from particular interface processes.

Speakers: Matthew Adams (Stanford U), Solveiga Armoskaite (Carleton University), Jonathan Bobaljik (UConn), Richard Compton (U of Toronto), A.-M. Di Sciullo (UQAM), Heidi Harley (U of Arizona), Vera Gribanova (Stanford U), Tom Leu (UQAM), Bethany Lochbihler (McGill U), Eric Mathieu (U of Ottawa), Neil Myler (NYU), Heather Newell (UQAM), Máire Noonan (McGill U), Glyne Piggott (McGill U) & Lisa Travis (McGill U), Andrés Salanova (U of Ottawa), Tobias Sheer (Université de Nice), Tanya Slavin (McGill U), Øystein Vangsnes (Tromsø), Kie Zuraw (UCLA).

Discussants: Alan Bale (McGill), Brian Buccola (McGill), Jessica Coon (McGill), Emily Elfner (McGill), Heather Goad (McGill), Michael Hamilton (McGill), Aron Hirsch (McGill), Gretchen McCulloch (McGill), Heather Newell (UQAM), Máire Noonan (McGill), Larissa Nossalik (McGill), Glyne Piggott (McGill), Alexandra Simonenko (McGill), Tobin Skinner (UQAM), Michael Wagner (McGill).

Registration is free, but please pre-register by April 24, so that we know how many will attend (for coffee breaks and food).

This entry was posted in External events. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.